New PGP key for email

Heya

Used Seahorse today to manage my new PGP key for my email address yawnbox@gmail.com. My really good password was generated using passwordsgenerator.net and securely stored.

A531D73D

Other (older) keys are not valid (EBF3C1FD and 2FB08023), so please do not use them.

I followed RiseUp’s Howto Setup OpenPGP Keys. I then made a backup of my private key in a Tomb.

Exported to pgp.mit.edu for ease of use:

gpg --list-keys
gpg --export -a A531D73D > mypubkey.asc
gpg --send-keys --keyserver pgp.mit.edu A531D73D

Verifying output:

gpg: sending key A531D73D to hkp server pgp.mit.edu

Happy encrypting!

Leave a Reply

